Sports news | International Women’s Day: SCG receives first statue of a cricket player


Melbourne [Australia]March 8 (ANI): Cricket Australia announced on Monday its commitment to further address the gender imbalance on International Women’s Day with the formation of a “Working Group on Recognizing Women in Cricket”.

As a first important step, the NSW government’s stadium authority, Venues NSW, has committed to house the first sculpture of a cricketer for women on the Sydney Cricket Ground.

The sculpture will be the first of its kind for a female cricketer compared to the 73 statues or sculptures of male cricketers known across Australia.

“Just as this year’s International Women’s Day theme is promoting the choice of challenge, we want to challenge ourselves to further address gender inequality in our game. Exactly a year ago to today we celebrated a landmark moment when 86,174 fans grabbed the MCG for the final of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup, “said Nick Hockley, Interim CEO of Cricket Australia, in an official statement.

“So many challenges have been presented since that day and it is now more important than ever that we continue to advocate for equality in cricket and build on the pre-pandemic dynamic. This is a historic moment for the game, Venues NSW scheduled for the first ever sculpture of a female cricketer at the Sydney Cricket Ground today, and we cannot thank Kerrie and her team enough for their guidance, “he added.

In addition, Cricket Australia and the Melbourne Cricket Club have commissioned a work of art depicting the final of the 2020 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup. The artwork is painted by award-winning artist Vincent Fantauzzo and begins to clear the imbalance in the artwork that depicts women’s sports on site.

The piece will be displayed in the MCC Members’ Reserve Level 2 corridors where it will be shown regularly on the MCG Tour route. This means that every year more than 40,000 school children experience the powerful story of the T20 World Cup Final.

First members of the Working Group on Recognizing Women in Cricket: Nick Hockley, Angela Pippos, Christina Matthews, Kerrie Mather, Kirsty Henshall, Kristene Reynolds, Lisa Sthalekar, Rachael Haynes and Rina Hore. (ANI)

(This is an unedited and auto-generated story from the Syndicated News feed. The newest contributors may not have changed or edited the content.)