Vijay Hazare Trophy: Mumbai, Uttar Pradesh reach the semifinals


Uttar Pradesh defeated Delhi by 46 runs and reached the Hazare semifinals

A disciplined Uttar Pradesh showed a thoroughly professional performance in the quarter-finals of the Vijay Hazare Trophy on Tuesday to outsmart Delhi by 46 runs.

UP now face Gujarat in the first semifinals, while the heavyweights Mumbai face Karnataka in their last four games.

Uttar Pradesh rode batsman batsman Upendra Yadav with 112 out of 101 balls and skipper Karan Sharmas 83 out of 100 deliveries to make a competitive 280/7.

The UP bowlers then did well enough to narrow Delhi to 234 in 48.1 overs, with none of the middle-order batsmen making a move after a high-order collapse after losing half the team within 20 overs.

Shivam Mavi 1/31 in 8.2 overs was brilliant until he had to be taken off the attack to bowl a couple of beamers.

But it was the spinner Shivam Sharma (1/33 in 10 overs) and the off-spinner Sameer Choudhary (0/25 in 6 overs) who put the brakes in the middle, as Lalit Yadav (61 from 78 balls) and Anuj Rawat (47 of 64 balls) could not break the shackles.

UP was put into the bat in Kotla and suffered a collapse of the highest order.

Both the openers Abhishek Goswami (6) and Madhav Kaushik (16) were cheap. While Goswami had the lead against wicket keeper Anuj Rawat from Pacer and skipper Pradeep Sangwan (2/49), Kaushik was also ahead against left arm Pacer Kulwant Khejroliya (1/50).

The young Priyam Garg (0) was found briefly by a direct litter from Hiten Dalal when UP got into all kinds of trouble.

Skipper Karan (83) and veteran Akshdeep Nath (15) tried to stabilize the ship with their 41-run stance on the fourth wicket, but Nath passed on the 17th when he was also in front of Simarjeet Singh (2/51) came to Rawat.

At 66 to 4, Karan and wicket keeper Upendra Yadav rallied, with Yadav playing second fiddle before starting a counterattack.

The two conjured up a decisive 129 runs for the fifth wicket to pull the team out of trouble.

While Sharma hammered 11 fours on his 100-ball stroke, Yadav hit 11 limits and two highs in his innings when the two faced the bowlers in Delhi.

UP was 150/4 after 32 overs and was aiming for a decent sum. But the weirdo Lalit fired Sharma in the 39th round.

Then Upendra took charge of themselves and found a capable ally in Sameer Choudhary who jumped in 43 of 35 balls with undefeated rapid fire, allowing them to cross the 275-run mark.

Brief Results: Uttar Pradesh 280/7 (Upendra Yadav 112, Karan Sharma 83; Pradeep Sangwan 2/49, Simarjeet Singh 2/51) defeated Delhi 234 in 48.1 overs (Lalit Yadav 61, Anuj Rawat 47, Akshdeep Nath 2/29, Shivam Mavi 1)) / 32).

Shaw Storm Moves Mumbai to Hazare Semis; Beat Saurashtra at 9 doors

Skipper Prithvi Shaw made his way to an unbeaten 185 from just 123 balls when Mumbai stormed into the Vijay Hazare Trophy semi-finals in Tuesday’s fourth quarter-finals with a tough win over Saurashtra against Saurashtra.

Picking a bat, Saurashtra rode Samarth Vyas’ undefeated 90 to score 284 for 5, but it was overshadowed by Shaw’s blitzkrieg as Mumbai chased the target in just 41.5 overs.

Shaw shattered his third hundred in the tournament after failing to beat 105 against Delhi and 227 against Puducherry in the league.

After 285, Shaw went on the offensive from the start as Mumbai scored 67 points without a loss after nine overs.

The tiny right-hander spared none of the opposing bowlers as he hit 21 fours and seven sixs in his whirlwind innings.

With Shaw in full flow, Yashasvi Jaiswal (75 of 104 balls) played the perfect second fiddle.

Shaw, who now holds the tournament’s highest individual score, continued playing, finishing his 50 of 29 balls.

The youngster continued on the attack, scoring his hundred in 67 balls, while the opening duo added 238 for the first wicket and laid the foundation for the win.

Jaiswal hit 10 fours and a six but was killed when Mumbai was close to victory.

Shaw, then in Aditya Tares (20 not out) company, handled the paperwork with ease.

Previously, the Saurashtra openers Snell Patel (30) and Avi Barot (37 out of 49 balls; 5 × 4) gave the team a steady start and conjured 58 runs.

Left-wing spinner Shams Mulani (2/51) gave Mumbai its first breakthrough after casting Patel.

Mumbai then put Saurashtra back as they snapped two quick wickets, leaving them at 85 for three in one point of concern.

All-rounder Shivam Dube (1/43) removed Barot, who was caught by Tanush Kotian, while Mulani sent Prerak Mankad (4) back.

One-drop batsman Vishvarajsinh Jadeja (53 of 69 balls; 4 × 4; 1 × 6) continued to play a stable inning but got no support at the other end.

Mumbai offie Tanush Kotian dealt the fourth blow to Saurashtra after cheaply sacking Arpit Vasavada (10) when they stumbled 121 for 4.

When it looked like Jadeja and Vyas were taking the game away, 21-year-old Leggie Prashant Solanki removed the former when Saurashtra lost half of his team for 155.

But Vyas, who came in sixth, and Chirag Jani (53 not out of 38 balls) then collected the innings and provided the much-needed momentum with their 129-run stand for the sixth wicket.

Vyas pounded seven limits and four highs while Jani hit five fours and one six as the duo played with the Mumbai attack.

Brief Results:

Saurashtra 284/5 (Samarth Vyas 90 not eliminated, Chirag Jani 53 not eliminated; Shams Mulani 2/51; Tanush Kotian 1/30) lost to Mumbai 285/1 (Prithvi Shaw 185 not eliminated, Yashasvi Jaiswal 75; Jaydev Unadkat 1 / 52) of 9 wickets.